Extensions Blog Press Contribute Forum FAQ Videos Changelog About Contact English
Chrome extensions you can't live without!
Extensions Blog Press Contribute Support About
Forum FAQ Videos Changelog Bio Contact

Question Regarding Permissions

I am a Learning Coach at a middle school and am interested in sharing this extension with my students but have some concerns. It asks for permissions to "See, edit, share, and permanently delete all the calendars you can access using Google Calendar". What exactly does this mean? That the add-on can edit and delete events/calendars? Change permissions? I want to make sure there won't be any issues before I share with students. The Google Calendar will run through their school generated Google account. Thanks for the response!

Comments

• A follow up to that-- Is there any way to be able to quick add from a Google Doc? My teachers have digital "boards" in Google Docs that list homework and upcoming assessments. Can events be added from there or only web pages? (I can't seem to make it work in a Doc)
  • Great question, from time time Google changes these messages that allows developers to fine tune the minimal permissions required for an extension to function. I will revisit the permissions and see if I can have the user opt-in to lesser common functions such as editing calendars themselves, the extension really only contains code to edit events currently.

As for the Google Doc as long as it's opened in a tab then you should be click the calendar icon and click the icon beside the Where field.

• Thank you for such a quick response! For the Google Doc-- when I do this it just adds the link to the document as the "where" rather than finding the text I select. Example- on the document it says "Math test on February 14". Ideally, I would like to be able to select that text and have it add to my calendar on that date.